Our Mission

The College Woman’s Club of Westfield was founded in 1917 “to further the higher education of women and serve the general interests of the community.” Our primary purpose is the awarding of scholarships to young women from Westfield on the basis of academics, leadership and financial need. The club also maintains an active calendar of events including guests speakers, interest groups and fundraisers.

Our Membership

We are a dedicated, multigenerational group, over 250 members strong, united by a lifelong love of learning and our commitment to promoting educational opportunities for women. Membership is open to all area women with a college degree and a desire to help future generations achieve that goal.

Our History

Founded by recent college graduates on the eve of WWI and at the height of the Women’s Suffrage movement, the College Woman’s Club has occupied a singular place in Westfield’s intellectual, cultural, and civic life for more than a century. CWC was instrumental in forming the Westfield Adult School, WHS College Night, and the town’s bicentennial celebration. CWC members were among the first female representatives on the Westfield Town Council and Board of Education, and currently serve on those and other civic boards.

CWC History presentation

Founders Mabel Sturgis, Wellesley ’02 and Helen French Welch, Vassar ’14

Our Officers 2022-23

  • President
    Mary Ellen O’Boyle
  • Vice President
    Caity Conklin
  • Secretary
    Annmarie Puleio
  • Website/PR Manager
    Esther Pak
  • Treasurer
    Mariella Foley
  • Assistant Treasurer
    Ruth Maloney
  • Advisor
    Anne Wargo
  • Director, 3rd Year – Finance
    Pam Shaw
  • Director, 2nd Year – Nominating
    Jackie Cash
  • Director,1st Year – Interest Groups
    Miriam Gabriel
  • Trustee, 3rd Year
    Linda Doyle
  • Trustee, 2nd Year
    Jeannie Arida
  • Trustee, 1st Year
    Donna Hornish
  • Scholarship Committee
    Jennifer Jaruzelski,  Chair
    Kris Luke, Assistant Chair